Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After months of debate I decided that I'd be better off buying out the battery of my 2015 Zoe.
Called them up and after checking the price (£2750) they just sent me an email with bank details on where to send the money, simple and that was that. No going to a dealer or sending anything off.
Today I have received the paperwork from RCI confirming everything and they are no longer interested in the battery. No change of the V5 I just need to keep hold of the certificate of sale. Pretty painless in the end.

What I was a little surprised about was the fact that RCI never once asked once about mileage. Like many I've been paying the minimum for the two years I've owned this car but have been doing well over the mileage allowance. I've worked it out that I have saved just over £950 in any penalty payments. Knowing that no-one seems to have been stung with that anyway makes it a bit of a hollow victory but still makes me feel a little better at sticking it to them :p

With the cost of the car I am in it for less than £7300 which I see as a decent enough deal.
CanZE gives the SOH between 94% and 98% depending on what it feels like on the day and for the first time I did a range test last week to get just over 101 miles so it'll go for quite a while yet.

With the lockdown I am clearly not doing even close to the same sort of mileage but it does get used as our main car just cause it's cheap to run, but I now feel better in knowing it isn't costing me with it just sitting on the drive.

Anyone else bought or close to buying their battery?

·
Registered
2017 Renault Zoe R90 Signature Nav
239 Posts
...but I now feel better in knowing it isn't costing me with it just sitting on the drive.