Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking at a 2017 30kw Tekna and the garage have removed all charging cables from the boot.
As a Leaf noob, I don’t want to be fobbed off by the garage, what cables should it come with?

thanks.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Dealer told me I was lucky to be getting the type2-type1 cable with the car. Mind you, they did release the car to me with half flat tyres, an engine bay full of dry leaves and cobwebs and a paint finish that looked as if if had been cleaned with a brillo pad so I can't be too surprised at that. I made the mistake of assuming a Nissan dealer would be as customer focused as a Toyota one so I didn't check everything as carefully as I should have done - I won't make that mistake again.

·
Registered
2,847 Posts
The cables supplied changed but from my experience.
My 2015 you got the granny with the 3.3 charger and the type 2 to type 1 with the 6.6.
2016 my 6.6 came with both.
2017 my 30 3.3 came with both.
As a used vehicle im afraid its buyer beware. Especially when you look on ebay and see how many cables are getting sold. It seems many are making a quick buck but shafting future owners.

·
Registered
162 Posts
Type 2 to type 1 cables are cheap on e-Bay - expect to pay around £100 - as they are "old hat" now with most cars are now type 2. The dealer is correct that one was not supplied as standard by Nissan (a dealer might have thrown one originally to sweeten a sale). If you got the car at a good price then stay happy,if not complain.
If you do choose to buy a lead make sure it is the correct capacity for your car - you need to know if your car is a 6.6 kWh as you'll need a 32 Amp lead to avoid the lead reducing the charging rate.

·
Registered
16 Posts