Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys

Looking at buying a Nissan leaf for as cheap as possible. My work now has free charge points and my commute is 10miles so it makes sense economically.

I see some 2011 leafs at 30-40k miles for maybe 6-7k. Also seeing 2016 leafs with 70k+ mileage, for slightly more money.

I'm new to electric vehicles, is it better to go for a newer car or a lower milage?

Thanks ?

·
Registered
438 Posts
Basically it's your personal preference. Higher mileage cars will have more wear and tear on their transmission, tyres, braking, suspension and steering systems. They are different to ICE vehicles in that there are no exhausts, engine and ignition systems to worry about. HOWEVER, battery condition is important, you may find a low mileage car that has been sat on a forecourt for ages at 100% charge, that won't have done it any good.

You pays your money and takes your chances. Leafspy Pro is your friend. If buying privately, see how knowledgeable the seller is about the charging side of the vehicle, ask how they have charged it, that makes a difference. See how well they've looked after it, open the tailgate and see if there is a load of dirt and detritus or mildew in the well under the spoiler-that is a dead giveaway as to how it has been treated. Under the bonnet if you see a load of dead leaves and pine needles in the nooks and crannies, that too tells you they don't look after it.

Reactions: dk6780 and Tandy0

·
Registered
4,991 Posts
I agree with the above. The LEAF went through a life cycle improvement in 2013 with a significant set of changes to the electronics and the trim - I'd suggest getting one of the Gen2 as they are referred to that dates from after then and can be identified by a flat boot floor - the Gen1 have a raised bar across the front of the boot behind the rear seat backs.