Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
330 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this so excuse me if being a dinny!

When using public charge points I feel my cable is a bit exposed to theft / vandalism especially if leaving overnight. I understand the charge points locks your cable in at that end (is that right?) but seems to me anyone could easily unplug from the car?

What's your experience..?

·
Registered
1,459 Posts
Never been unplugged but I'm sure it'll happen one day...

The Ampera has option to sound alarm if the car is unplugged, but if the charger is unplugged nothing will happen. (OVMS could be configured to send alerts on power loss if not fully charged)

If I'm leaving the car overnight in an unfamiliar area I roll the car forward so a wheel is on the cable.

·
Registered
330 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
yes I notice that the standard charge cable with the box and 13A plug on it appears to have a hole for a padlock at the car end which stops the release button being pressed but my type 2 to type 1 cable (which the previous owner bought and I think is a Vauxhall one) doesn't seem to.

·
Registered
7,249 Posts
In 46k miles and 3 years of EV driving I have never had it unplugged but I have heard of others that have but it doesn't happen very often.

For now I am not being concerned. I don't use the alarm on the Ampera as it annoying if I forget to turn it off before unplugging (!). If it starts to look like it might become an issue then I shall reconsider but for now then I don't padlock and I don't use the alarm.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Didn't it once happen to you while staying at a hotel? You were thankful that you were in the Ampera rather than the Leaf.

·
Super Moderator
5,905 Posts
If I'm leaving the car overnight in an unfamiliar area I roll the car forward so a wheel is on the cable.
All of the info I have read says not to park on the cable as it eventually damage it.