Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All

Please forgive me if this query has been answered already. I'm totally new to EV and have our Mitsubishi Outlander being delivered in a few weeks. Unable to have a charging unit installed at home.

Am I able to buy an extension cable for home electric charging and if so, which type is best? Need 10m.

Thanks in advance.
Ross

·
Registered
3,483 Posts
There have been recommendations on this forum before. Some here will say "don't use an extension", and some EV mfts also say "don't". But others say you can, with care. You'll want one with properly waterproof socket at the end of it. In pracxtice, using an extension generally works fine providing you check the plugs & sockets don't start to overheat. I made my own up using that blue-plastic heavy cable often used, I think, for caravan hookups, and it's been fine. I'm sure a sparky will be along soon to help more competently!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Andy for your advice. Much appreciated. I did see specific cables on Amazon, but they were quite pricey, around £200 for a 10m.

·
Registered
Renault ZOE R135 ZE50 GTLine July 2020 (Sold: R90 ZE40 i Dynamic Nav June 2017)
614 Posts
This is a good source: Tough Leads

But the real risk is likely to be the socket you plug your portable EVSE or extension lead into. If it is old, or the wiring is old, or the cables are not connected into the socket correctly the it can easily get hot and even start a fire. Some cheap sockets even melt if they get hot.

·
Registered
890 Posts

But the real risk is likely to be the socket you plug your portable EVSE or extension lead into. If it is old, or the wiring is old, or the cables are not connected into the socket correctly the it can easily get hot and even start a fire. Some cheap sockets even melt if they get hot.