Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks, just joined up as I'm new to the whole EV scene. Should take delivery of a new Audi E-tron in September and I need to get my finger out and get a charger installed at home. My question is which one should I go for.

PodPoint - apparently get this free through Audi however I'm getting sick of chasing Audi in order to arrange this. Heard these are pretty basic chargers anyway.

Project EV - A local company has offered me this for a few hundred pounds. Don't know too much about them.

Rolec - Same local company has offered this for a few hundred more than the Project EV. Have heard a few people recommend these.

My question is, apart from the costs , what are the differences, Pros and Cons etc.

I quite like the idea of controlling charging via App and utilising cheaper tariffs at night etc.

Thanks in advance.
Baz.

·
Registered
3,818 Posts
Baz

Welcome!

There's no absolute best choice, more a case of what fits your needs. For example,
  1. do you have solar and if so are you home during daylight in order to charge from it?
  2. What sort of tariff are you on or moving to? For example one single rate, or with an off-peak period, or continuously variable?
  3. Do you have 3 phase at home?
  4. Do you want to use the onboard timer on the E-Tron or one on a smartphone app?
There's also issues around
  1. the electricity supply to your house (what spare capacity is there and how convenient is it to get from your meter to where the car will be parked),
  2. what mobile phone and your WiFi signals are like where you park the car,
  3. the amount that you'll need every night (the E-Tron uses about 1kWh per 2.5 miles)?
Sorry for all the questions, but it isn't straightforward.

In answer to your questions:
  • PodPoint is a safe choice but one that currently doesn't allow you to configure charging times nor support solar or variable tariffs.