Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
HI all,

So I have been working on Motorsport EVs and Hybrids for the last 5 years and am heavily involved in Formula E with my work. Therefore I plan to move across to an EV early next year . The delay is that I am having an extension which involves knocking down and rebuilding my garage...so no point having an EV and no means to home charge.

My commute to Woking and back is ~20 miles total...and I don't like spending money. Also I need the flexibility to add another 60 miles onto the end of my day....so hoping for something I can get to and from work under full EV, with the backup to switch to fossil fuel in rare instances.

Therefore expecting to do an Ampera (real world 30 mile worst case range from what I understand) or an i3 REx (real world >60 mile range). So I will be keeping an eye on those forums or/and classified ads....but just wanted to say hi in the first instance...
Hello!

·
Registered
1,872 Posts
If you are working in Motorsport EV, is there any chance of charging at work until your garage is rebuilt? A Leaf30 should have no difficulty in doing 10 miles home, 60 miles out and about in the evening, and 10 miles back to work. For weekends and when you do a bit extra, there is always the 'granny lead' which you can use to charge slowly from any good 13A socket.

OK the Leaf is pure EV with no fossil fuel backup, so longer trips rely on finding en-route or destination chargers, and their availability depends on where in the country you are located. See Map of charging points for electric car drivers in UK: Zap-Map for locations of possible charging points.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3