Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

First post so please be gentle. I am not an electrician and have very little knowledge when it comes to electrics.
I’m thinking of replacing my ICE with a BEV when my company car renewal is due (a couple of months) and one of the requirements of my employer is that to have a BEV you must have a home charger installed.

My meter and consumer unit are both under the stairs in the middle of the house I.e. not near an external wall, I don’t think that will be an issue though as I have power to the detached garage and also various outside lights.
What is concerning me though is that my electrics look very old fashioned! Will they be able to support a charger install?
I’m in the process of moving to Octopus and then will apply for a smart meter but in the meantime have attached some photos.
Would any of you experts be able to comment on my set up?
Thanks in advance!
GandT :)

·
Registered
166 Posts
I can’t comment on the details of your set up, but you need a separate dedicated cable running from your fuse box. So you won’t be able to use the existing garage supply. I got my own electrician to run a dedicated 32A cable and then had Podpoint do the final install of charger, breakers etc under the government scheme.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I can’t comment on the details of your set up, but you need a separate dedicated cable running from your fuse box. So you won’t be able to use the existing garage supply. I got my own electrician to run a dedicated 32A cable and then had Podpoint do the final install of charger, breakers etc under the government scheme.
Thanks, I wouldn’t actually be charging in the garage (that’s for storage!) but on the drive with the charger mounted on either the garage or house wall, I just mentioned it to clarify that I already have cables run externally from the meter/ CU.

·
Registered
1,742 Posts