Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,356 Posts
Predicated on the assumption that someone has the courage to try their PM for contempt.

·
The best there is at what I do
10,564 Posts
He seems pretty confident, probably some sort of legal loophole that means he doesn't have to.

I wonder if the EU would even accept such a request for yet another extension, they may take the view that yet another extension is pointless as we just seem to be going round and round in circles.

·
Registered
5,671 Posts
Arguably, he's negotiated a deal and offered it to parliament which hasn't actually rejected it yet.
As a non lawyer, I tend to agree with this opinion. On one provision as below.

An on-line assessment of the Benn Act essentially states this of the Act :-

"It requires the Government to either reach a deal - or gain Parliament's approval for a no-deal Brexit by today, October 19. If the Government does not do either by that deadline, then the legislation would require the Prime Minister to write to the EU to request another extension."

Pretty loose wording there.

Clearly he has reached a deal, (one that has not yet been rejected) by that deadline - so the requirement to need to ask for an extension falls as he has complied with that loose wording.

However, if that opinion is wrong and the Benn Act is worded better to specifically state that he had to reach a deal - and that he had to also get it voted on and accepted by parliament by the 19th Oct - then a letter asking for an extension would be required because that has not happened.

As I am losing the will to live over the squirming and frankly embarrassing actions of the anti-democracy throng I have no intention of wasting time searching for a transcript of that Act.

·
Registered
11,337 Posts
Discussion Starter #6