Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
9,171 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is anyone here thinking of getting winter tyres for their e-Golf? I have heard good things about the benefits of winter tyres but I don't do a lot of miles and live in the temperate south west London suburbs.

·
I'm not crazy, the attack has begun.
26,323 Posts
It depends what your current tyres are like. If they have good deep shoulder blocks then they'll be OK. I've had some good summer tyres better in winter than the worst winter tyres!

In general, yes, because below around 7C the rubber of a winter tyre is more compliant to the road surface, whereas a summer tyre will become hard and lose its 'bite', especially LRR tyres. But that's not always a given.

·
Registered
2,987 Posts
I'm a big fan of winter tyres. I have been using them now since 2010 and will not go back to using summer tyres in winter.

But, I have just changed all 4 tyres for Michelin's latest tyre, the CrossClimate. They appear to be a better comprise than all season tyres and in tests seem to fare very well.

I have started another thread on them and will update you all how I find them. So far only driven 50metres home in them!!

I have a set of 215/70R16 Vredesein Wintrac 4 Extreme which are surplus to requirements as I have sold my Freelander I used them on. I must get round to selling them.

Edited the year lol

·
Registered
9,171 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I have been using them now since 2020
A visitor from the future! Do you mind if we meet up so I can take notes about how the stock market performs over the next five years? :D

·
Registered
2,221 Posts
I'm a big fan of winter tyres. I have been using them now since 2010 and will not go back to using summer tyres in winter.

But, I have just changed all 4 tyres for Michelin's latest tyre, the CrossClimate. They appear to be a better comprise than all season tyres and in tests seem to fare very well.