Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
'18 Zoe ZE 40 R110 + '21 VW ID.4 1st
421 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My wife just sent me a picture of one of the tyres on our ZE40:

So it looks like we'll need a new one (what even happened there? I've never seen anything like it...). The tyres weren't exactly brand new when we bought the car last summer, so it is probably a good time to get a full new set. I'm a novice when it comes to tyres though - I remember reading somewhere that EVs need "special" tyres due to their weight - do I need to go for something with an XL rating like the Dynamos below? Or is that a load of rubbish and I'd be fine with a more premium standard tyre like the Goodyears?

·
Registered
421 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Related question - is that tyre safe to drive on (ideally I'd take that car to work tomorrow [11 mile commute], then drive it the the tyre place in the afternoon [another 10 miles or so]...)

·
Registered
573 Posts
Not sure I'd risk driving it like that... I'm still running on mainly original Michelin Primacy 4s but I've mainly seen people referring to Michelin Cross Climates as a replacement.

·
Registered
421 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Not sure I'd risk driving it like that... I'm still running on mainly original Michelin Primacy 4s but I've mainly seen people referring to Michelin Cross Climates as a replacement.
Michelin Primacy 4 is not a reinforced tyre, right? Or is it a reinforced version of the Primacy 4?

·
Registered
573 Posts
Uh, sorry, just checked and I'm on Primacy 3s - it says Extra Load on the tyre, they are 205/45R17

·
Zoe Devotee
9,272 Posts
Don't drive on that tyre. It may blow out at any time.

Why not just buy decent tyres rather than going for the cheapest? Cross Climates are well regarded. I used Dunlop Blueresponce on my Zoe for 2 sets and they were great, way better than the energy EV ones.

·
Registered
421 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·