Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good evening!
I'm Gábor Szalai from Hungary and I'm thinking about buying a 2nd hand Zoe.
However I have some special circumstances that (as I'm aware of) the ZOE doesn't like. I have 25A single phase at home but as of my current knowledge Zoe charges really inefficently from one phase. Also I'm an electrical engineer (so as my father) and we came up with a circuit that takes single phase AC and spits out sinusodial three phase AC (120 degrees apart of course). The catch is that it only can do it at 6A/phase (because of the high input current requirements) (wich is in line with the EVSE protocol's minimum allowable current).
What I could gather from the forums is that the "Q" motor variants can't really be charged bellow 12A but the "R" variants can.
How low can the "R" variant reliably go? Is there anyone who can test it out? (3-phase would be awesome but I'm also very thankful for single phase tests!)

Thanks in advance!
Have a nice day :)

·
Registered
Renault Zoe 50
18,548 Posts
They charge at 10Amps in the UK. But the losses are about 25%.

Personally I'd try and keep the charge above 16-20 Amps.

·
Registered
Renault ZOE R135 ZE50 GTLine July 2020 (Sold: R90 ZE40 i Dynamic Nav June 2017)
693 Posts
The ZOE charges inefficiently at low currents. You can find info for single phase at Charger efficiency and for 3 phase at Charger efficiency part 2 (3 phase).

I guess that in your circumstances you will be best running at single phase 16A or above, rather than 3 phase at 6A.

·
Co-author of CanZE. Q210 nov 2013
4,506 Posts
ZOE is NOT particularly inefficient at low currents. It is relatively ineffective though since it is a fairly large capacitive load. There is no way creating your own three fases will in any conceivable way more efficient. Please abandon the idea

The R models can go down to about 6 A, but that would be really unpractical